The Fall Feasts of Yahweh

In the last article we learned that the feast days belong to the Lord, Yahweh Elohim and not the Jewish people. He instituted them. He set forth the requirements of each one and He determined when they should take place. We also saw that anyone who claims to belong to Him is supposed to keep His feast days. Finally, we saw which feast days Yeshua fulfilled and which ones he didn’t. For a more in-depth study, read “The Feast Days of Yahweh.”

Fall Feast Days of the Lord

Today’s article will give an overview of the fall feast days. In the weeks to come there will be a more in-depth teaching on each feast day. Until then, enjoy the overview.

Rosh Hashanah (Feast of Trumpets) / ראש השנה

The first of the fall feast days go by several names — Rosh Hashanah, Feast of Trumpets, Yom Teruah, and the Jewish New Year. However, in the Bible it is described as Yom Teruah, a day of shouting [of the people and sounding the trumpet]. It starts the Ten Days of Repentance by blowing the shofar to call God’s people together to repent from their sins. This is something that happens as a nation. The people gather together and confess their sins before God.

Traditionally, it is the civil New Year in Israel. It is a day of joyful celebrations, looking forward to God’s goodness and mercy in the coming New Year.

This year’s Feast of Trumpets (Rosh Hashanah) begins Wednesday, September 4, 2013 at sundown and continues until Friday, September 6, 2013 at sundown.

Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement) /  יום כפור

Yom Kippur is known as the Day of Atonement. This is the day God’s people go through a purification process, cleansing them of all their sins, transgressions, and iniquities. Judgment commences. Sin and transgressions are eradicated. Iniquities are forgiven and everlasting justice prevails. It’s about being redeemed and making peace with God, the King of the universe.

Yom Kippur is “the holiest day of the year for the Jews, who traditionally observe this holy day with a 25-hour period of fasting and intensive prayer, often spending most of the day in synagogue services.” (

This year’s Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur) begins Friday, September 13, 2013 at sundown and continues until Shabbat, September 14, 2013 at sundown.

Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) /  סוכות

Sukkot is the last of the fall feast days of the Lord and rightly so because it is a week-long celebration, expressing joy received after repenting and being redeemed. Other names applied to this celebration are Feast of Booths and Feast of Tabernacles.

The word “sukkot” means “booths” and represents a temporary dwelling place. A good example is the tents the children of Israel dwelled in when they were in the desert for 40 years. Also, during that time God dwelled with them — guiding, feeding, and protecting them. Therefore, every year people all over the world construct a sukkot and live in it for seven days (or go in it every day to commune with each other and with God), celebrating the goodness of God.

This year’s Sukkot (Feast of Tabernacles) begins Wednesday, September 18, 2013 at sundown and continues until Wednesday, September 25, 2013 at sundown. September 18-20 are yom tov (good day), so they have similar obligations and restrictions to Shabbat in the sense that normal “work” is forbidden.

2 thoughts on “The Fall Feasts of Yahweh”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top